Introspection (Introduction)



Intro

My wife married a god fearing Christian and to her great relief an atheist emerged shortly thereafter.


I count myself among the lucky–that my prior faith–and so too my subsequent crisis of faith–played a minimal role in my relationship with the woman I love. In the end, I think it all really depends on how open minded both couples are–and how honest they are with one another (as well as themselves). If one of them turns out to be completely religious–and the other is not–there will undoubtedly be some friction. This friction can be smoothed over by the simple agreement not to talk about religion in the home–like the one my Japanese wife and I had when I was a raging, proselytizing, missionary for Jesus save em’ all Christ.

Lesson 1: Family comes first. If you and your significant other share opposing worldviews, be it religious or political, don’t talk about religion and/or politics in the home. It will save the both of you a lot of wasted breath and heartache arguing over trivialities.


Not talking about religion in the home is probably what saved my marriage. If I would have continued with my preaching–my every day religious rambling, regardless of how important it seemed to me at the time, I am almost positive my wife would have eventually worn thin–and in all likelihood probably would have distanced herself from me one way or another. Luckily, however, I came to see the light. By light, I mean the truth according to enlightenment values.

Lesson 2: Embrace change instead of fearing it.


It’s time for a change of pace here at the Advocatus Atheist. So for the next several months I am going to focus exclusively on myself and my journey from believer to non-believer. It will be the most in-depth analysis of myself and what I believe that I have ever attempted. It will be–pure unadulterated Introspective reflection.

Hopefully you will enjoy reading about my journey from self-righteous Christian tub-thumper to radical atheist polemicist.

The reason I have decided to start this Introspection series is two fold. First of all, I feel it may be of use to others who may be experiencing the same sorts of doubts and who may have similar questions about their faith as I once did. Perhaps they can take something from my experiences. Secondly, I still abide by the rule–out of fidelity to my wife–not to bring the cruel mistress of religious dialog into the home. Therefore, all this and more is best suited for blogging.

Please join me–and remember–these are merely my opinions, experiences, and beliefs according to the revelations I have had along the path from theistic belief to lack thereof. Feel free to treat my Introspection series as one giant letter to the editor–take the best and leave the rest.

As it is a personal reflection of my own life–all I ask is that you be fair in your criticism–that is all. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tristan Vick

Advocatus Atheist


Leave a Reply

