Hiding Behind the Universe: Doubting God


My thoughts exactly.

3 comments

  1. I’ve seen this video posted everywhere but I hadn’t watched it yet. I’ve watched most of his videos so there really wasn’t that much surprising here as it’s in the same vein as most of the others. I guess I would have a few comments right off the bat:

    1. God isn’t about human happiness. I think that needs to be made very clear.

    2. I think he is wrong about the classical arguments only proving a deistic god. I think they can prove a theistic god, but I agree, they don’t prove the Christian God. And actually, I think ‘prove’ is the wrong word all together. “Reasonably believe in” I think is a better descriptor.

    3. I think portraying God like he is a human, with all the personable faults of a human, isn’t actually how the Bible portrays Him. How one views God will drastically alter how one interprets many of the nasty passages NSC points out.

    4. I think the angel should be called Michael instead of Gabriel. Traditionally Michael is considered God’s right hand angel 😉

    I could say more but I think I’ll leave it at that. I’m hoping to get some dialogue going and then make a more sophisticated post out of the discussion.

    I’m moving to Victoria, BC btw. So we will basically be next door neighbours with just that little pond called the Pacific between us :p

    1. Actually, I think the NonStampCollector is just parodying the unsophisticated thinking of the average theist–by making us aware exactly how anthropomorphic the God of the Bible actually is.

      I wouldn’t read much into it beyond that. At least not with this video. Some of his others are more profound.

      That said, I have some questions about your points.

      1) If God isn’t about human happiness, can he be a God of love? And if so, then why introduce sin… if he’s not about our redemption and ultimate happiness?

      2) Why is a theistic God preferable over a deistic God? I thought it would be the other way around. Feel free to enlighten me.

      3) The Bible portrays God like a human because the Bible was written by humans. It’s that simple.

      4) Actually, I think Christian tradition portrays Gabriel as God’s messenger, he is the bringer of the heavenly host, and he is the trumpeter. Micheal, from what I can gather, is simply a waring angel. So I see no problem with portraying Gabriel as a conveyor of common sense wisdom. I actually found some irony in that he was bringing the message to God instead of the other way around. That’s part of the reason the video is so funny, in my opinion.

      Advocatus Atheist

  2. “Actually, I think the NonStampCollector is just parodying the unsophisticated thinking of the average theist–by making us aware exactly how anthropomorphic the God of the Bible actually is.”

    I thank your correct in that assertion to a certain degree. The Bible is full of anthropomorphisms about God. But I think that is just a linguistic device to help us understand God. Meeting us where we are so-to-speak.

    “I wouldn’t read much into it beyond that. At least not with this video. Some of his others are more profound.”

    That we can agree on.

    “1) If God isn’t about human happiness, can he be a God of love? And if so, then why introduce sin… if he’s not about our redemption and ultimate happiness?”

    I’m not sure at what the link between love and happiness is. You can love something without being happy. Happiness is also a much more fleeting emotion. You can be happy one moment, and then someone says something to you which destroys your world, and then you’re not happy anymore. Love is very different. I think God is more about bringing Joy to people, which I think is an emotion linked with love. Joy isn’t fleeting like love. You can have joy in your child even if they aren’t making you happy at the moment. On a side note, Jesus also doesn’t promise happiness in any way. He promises ridicule and suffering, at least on this side of life.

    “2) Why is a theistic God preferable over a deistic God? I thought it would be the other way around. Feel free to enlighten me.”

    I am just saying that I think that classical arguments for God can show that belief in a theistic god is reasonable. They can not show the Christian god is reasonable to believe in however. We have to look to Jesus to believe in the Christian god. And on a side note we need to interpret the God of the Old Testament from a Christocentric view, not a secular, or Jewish view. Christ is our hermeneutical key.

    “3) The Bible portrays God like a human because the Bible was written by humans. It’s that simple.”

    I agree that the Bible was written by humans. And I agree that God is described using human terms. I think this is God’s way of accommodating to us. On a side note I also think scripture is inspired, but that is another debate :p

    “4) Actually, I think Christian tradition portrays Gabriel as God’s messenger, he is the bringer of the heavenly host, and he is the trumpeter. Micheal, from what I can gather, is simply a waring angel. So I see no problem with portraying Gabriel as a conveyor of common sense wisdom. I actually found some irony in that he was bringing the message to God instead of the other way around. That’s part of the reason the video is so funny, in my opinion.”

    This was just me being silly :p I agree Gabriel is portrayed traditionally as God’s messenger. But now that you put it that way (Gabriel bringing the message to God) I think your right, Gabriel is the better choice. Watching the video I was more thinking God was talking to his second in command but watching it again I see rather that this is an angel bringing tidings of bad news.

Leave a Reply

